Ch-ch-ch-changes!

Anne and I have been putting our heads together (well, as best as we can being several time zones and thousands of miles apart😉 ) and we wanted to share with you what we have planned for the blog over the next few months.

First off, we’re changing the idea and format of the FAL weekends, since they haven’t taken off that well. From August, there won’t be a specified FAL weekend; instead, each month will have a different finishing theme, either a specific finish or a seasonal theme (or both!). Everyone is invited to join in at any point during the month, finish something along the lines of the theme and post their finishes on here. To give you some inspiration, we plan on highlighting relevant tutorials and including links to and photos of stitchers’ work to get you started. The themes won’t be too rigid so hopefully as many of you as possible will be able to finish something appropriate and join in. Also, every other month starting from December, just to make it a bit more fun, we’ll be having a prize draw for anyone who posts a themed finish during that particular month!🙂

Secondly, Anne has collated all the results from the polls that we took earlier this year and we’re in the process of working out a new schedule of classes for next year. The plan is to run two classes per month, so that you don’t have to wait so long for a class that you really want to do, plus it will hopefully create more participation and activity on the blog, which we’re also trying to encourage😉 More details will follow very shortly.

On the subject of classes, it’s been lovely to see people using the class tutorials that have been offered so far this year and the results have been wonderful! We’d like to encourage anyone who has finished something using one of the class tutorials to post their finish here so that we can all admire them🙂 I know I’ve been asking individual people to do this if I see a finish on their blog, but I don’t visit every single blog so please feel free to post your finishes here as we love to see what people have done with the classes we’ve been offering. Also, if you create a tutorial and post it up online somewhere, please add a comment to the tutorials page or email either of us so that we can add it to the list!

Now it’s your turn. Is there anything you’d like to see covered in the blog that isn’t here already? Any gaps, anything we could do to encourage more participation? All suggestions welcome🙂

8 thoughts on “Ch-ch-ch-changes!

  1. The monthly finishing themes sound great. I have a hard time participating in FAL weekends because the weekend is my biggest chunk of stitching time and all too often I use it to catch up on obligation stitching. I’ll be curious to see how much more activity the new arrangement creates.

  2. I’d really, really love a class on how to finisha pinkeep. I see so many beautiful pinkeeps on everyone’s blogs, but I don’t have a clue how to make one. In fact, I’m pretty clueless when it comes to finishing in general.

  3. These changes you are planning sound great Karen and Anne! I already love this blog and have used all the class tutorials except for one. I would love to see a tutorial on making a basket (not sure what they are called). Here is a link to one: http://xstitch-nl.blogspot.com/ Scroll down to the entry called Birthday Basket dated Monday, July 2/07. I love how this has been finished and would love to make one of these. I think having 2 classes a month will be wonderful–the more finishing techniques I can learn, the happier I will be.😀 Thank you for such a wonderful blog, keep up the great work!

  4. Monthly finishing technique is a great idea. I think it’ll be more receptive! This is a great blog and I do refer to it very frequently for my finishings! Thank you for all your effort.

  5. I refer to this site a lot when I am finishing things. I love the idea of a monthly theme versus a specific weekend. Thanks for all you do, this is a great blog.

  6. Like Katrina, I also refer to this site when I am finishing. It is a great reference! Thank you so much for organizing it and the FAL’s. I am without a sewing machine, but should be receiving one in October for my birthday… so I will be able to participate a little more🙂

    My only suggestion for the blog would be to include some links in the tutorials under tassels and misc section for bow tying techniques. I had a hard time finding instructions when trying to tie a bow on a styrofoam cube I recently finished! =)

  7. I think that’s a great idea – having a theme per month. I’ll be able to join in more too hopefully. Thanks for all you do both of you! (By the way, when shall I post the materials list for the pinkeep tutorial?🙂

Leave a Reply

