Updating the Tutorial Links page

Apologies for leaving the blog unattended for so long … aside from a sudden burst of eventually writing and adding more tutorials to the blog, I’ve also been checking the various links on the Tutorial Links page and removing those that are no longer active links.  And in case you’re wondering, yes there are still more tutorials to come in the future, I’m just staggering them at the moment while I juggle general day living duties and also trying not to run out of tutorials too soon so there is nothing left to contribute! 🙂

I have to say it feels really disheartening that so many links are no longer active, and blogs themselves that have closed down.  I’m sorry to see some of my favourite tutorials now removed from public viewing, and am now kicking myself that I didn’t take more notice and take my own notes for future use.  All that expertise gone forever from the public domain.  And it makes me wonder what has happened in the past to make our fellow stitchers not want to participate in the online community anymore and remove the information.  Is it due to lack of comments and feedback?  Were they business blogs where the business has now been sold or folded along with the pages?  Have personal circumstances changed and they no longer have a stitching interest?

Just a little ponderance for myself for the evening while I’m culling the tutorial links list to what appears to be at least half the size it once was!  Very very sad, I think, when I realise the sheer volume of information that is no longer available … perhaps we all need to ensure we show our support of our fellow stitchers to help keep them motivated and keep the information alive?  It’s an interesting question, I think, and I truthfully don’t know the right answer!

 

4 thoughts on “Updating the Tutorial Links page

  1. I just came across your blog and it is amazing! Your pictures and tutorials are some of the best I’ve seen! I sure hope you don’t plan on disappearing like the blogs you referred to in your post….I would hate to lose this as a recource! I have so many projects that need finishing and I’m not big on framing. I think it’s because I like to touch and feel my projects even after they’re finished, lol. Thanks again for providing this wonderful information!!

  2. Just found your blog. LOVE IT!! The Scissors Fob tutorials are inspirational. I feel inspired to finish a pile of projects. What a great way to start the new year. Thank you.

Leave a comment